Spiritual Forums

Spiritual Forums (https://www.spiritualforums.com/vb/index.php)
-   Death & The Afterlife (https://www.spiritualforums.com/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   Nature of Afterlife (https://www.spiritualforums.com/vb/showthread.php?t=63516)

JR1981 12-02-2014 06:19 PM

Nature of Afterlife

Hi all,

Newbie here. Anyway, I've been doing a lot of personal exploration about what I ultimately believe. And truthfully it changes day to day. I was brought up Catholic but am kind of lapsed. I've run the gamut from "heaven + God", "afterlife without God," "nature" etc. etc.

To be honest, though, I was actually quite troubled when I began to explore Buddhism. In fact it was very frightening. It teaches that the "self" as we know it is an illusion and that reincarnation is not desirable, only nirvana (highest knowledge/enlightenment and extinction). I didn't find Hinduism much more comforting either, as it stresses "oneness" with greater consciousness that excludes individuality (I think??).

I was wondering, what do you all think? Do you believe we retain our individuality in the hereafter?

Wandering_Star 14-02-2014 05:51 PM

I believe we do have an individual consciousness and identity as souls (though the boundaries aren't so rigid as they are in the embodied egoic self).

But I also believe that individual souls are born out of the One, and ultimately return to it. By the time that happens, I imagine the individual souls are more than ready for it, and happy to go. Awakening/reaching enlightenment while embodied here on earth is just one small step, as is ceasing to embody at all (and one does not automatically follow the other).

I believe there are further levels, further lessons to learn, and more work to do even after we've ceased embodying. What are they? I don't know; I'm not that advanced! But it's safe to say that if you're still embodying, you're not going to merge back into the One anytime soon.

JR1981 14-02-2014 06:30 PM

Quote: