Spiritual Forums

Spiritual Forums (https://www.spiritualforums.com/vb/index.php)
-   Meditation (https://www.spiritualforums.com/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   in meditation, do you use mudras ? (https://www.spiritualforums.com/vb/showthread.php?t=136323)

deepdip 22-07-2020 06:43 AM

in meditation, do you use mudras ?

What is your personal experience with mudras in meditation ?

I'm still an amateur, I only practice mindful breathing, but "gyan mudra" definately makes it easier for me to focus my attention.And the focus is more,more stable with the mudra.

iamthat 22-07-2020 08:15 PM

Mudra means gesture or seal, and a mudra is a hand position or bodily position intended to influence the flow of energy around the body.

Deepdip speaks of gyan mudra, which is the common practice of sitting with the thumbs touching the index fingers. This improves concentration and sharpens memory.

Other mudras include:

Buddhi mudra - thumbs touching the little fingers. This is used for mental clarity.

Shuni mudra
- thumbs touching the middle fingers. This improves intuition and alertness, and purifies thoughts and emotions.

Prana mudra
- thumbs touching the little and third fingers. This awakens and enlivens personal prana.

There are other hand mudras - plenty of information available online.

Other common mudras include:

Khechari mudra
- the tongue rolled back to touch the soft palate at the top of the mouth. This is actually baby khechari. Full khechari has the tongue rolled even further back into the nasal cavity but this takes practice. This is a powerful mudra which aids concentration, turns awareness inwards, strengthens the immune system, helps overcome laziness and hunger, plus many other benefits.

Shambhavi mudra - another very powerful practice where the eyes are rolled upwards to gaze at the ajna chakra. It brings the mind into a state of balance and leads to higher states of consciousness.

Jyoti mudra