Spiritual Forums

Spiritual Forums (https://www.spiritualforums.com/vb/index.php)
-   Yoga (https://www.spiritualforums.com/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=61)
-   -   Too inflexible for yoga? (https://www.spiritualforums.com/vb/showthread.php?t=114994)

Spotted&HerbaceousSmall 12-07-2017 12:22 PM

Too inflexible for yoga?

I've been practicing yoga for a few months now, but I've hit a snag - I don't seem to be flexible enough to do anything.

I don't go to classes at the minute (saving up) but I read that I should work on the 'Big Toe Forward Bend', but when I try I can make about a 90 degree bend at the waist and that's it.. If I round my back I can just about touch my ankles, but my hamstrings (at least I assume that's the one that's causing the problem- its from about halfway down the back of my thigh to the back of my knee) so tight that I can hold that position for about seconds before I physically pop up like a cork :tongue:

Is it possible to be too inflexible for yoga? Anyone got any suggestions for poses to help beat the bounce back?

Tobi 12-07-2017 11:08 PM

I should hardly comment on a yoga thread as I don't do yoga and never did.
....But...I do understand a little about the body and the way it works. And so long as you are working under some kind of guidance, I would say that daily exercises will definitely improve your flexibility.
Muscles don't want to flex because probably -they never have done, very much. You may be doing moves your body has never used or used very little. So it might take some time to loosen up. Massaging the muscles might also help....not pushing and forcing anything EVER, but each day working to extend your body's flexibility -gently. Muscles can be trained like anything else. When you are flexing, breathe into it also.
It's also a fact that anyone carrying a little excess weight in front may find bending harder.

In Flux 14-07-2017 08:25 PM