Spiritual Forums

Spiritual Forums (https://www.spiritualforums.com/vb/index.php)
-   Hypnosis (https://www.spiritualforums.com/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=112)
-   -   Hypnosis for labour (https://www.spiritualforums.com/vb/showthread.php?t=12583)

Cherub T 14-03-2011 02:32 PM

Hypnosis for labour

Hi, I wondered if anyone has had hypnosis for helping them when it comes to child birth. I really want to try and do it without any drugs, but this is my first time, so i may change that thought nearer the time! lol I wondered if hypnosis is something anyone here has tried for child birth? x

sunny shine 14-03-2011 02:48 PM

Yes I heard this from a hypnotherapist; what they basically do is take you a deep level and put positive affirmations and it works beautifully.

star-child 13-04-2011 12:48 PM

My hypnotherapist had a book in the practice room called Hypnobirthing, perhaps do some research and see if there are any practitioners who provide it near you.

Cherub T 03-05-2011 10:50 PM

I've had a look into the hypnobirthing and it looks fab! x

Kaere 03-05-2011 10:53 PM

As long as you're looking at alternative pain relieving ideas, have a google at effleurage. It's the practice of your partner drawing gently on another part of the body (like an arm or leg) to give you a different sensation to focus on.

I was not sold on it myself. Took about five seconds before I was prepared to do murder. But that's just me - I don't like to be touched when I'm in pain. You may be different.

Cherub T 03-05-2011 10:58 PM

I'll have a look at that too. Really wanting to be aware of the birth, so trying hard not to go for the drugs. Although this is my first time, so I don't know what I will be like.

I once got hypnotized to stop eating chocolate and it worked for one and a half years, so perhaps I'm open to the suggestions in this. Just ten weeks to go!

earthwanderess 03-05-2011 11:25 PM