Spiritual Forums

Spiritual Forums (https://www.spiritualforums.com/vb/index.php)
-   Films (https://www.spiritualforums.com/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   The Healing Nature Of Film (https://www.spiritualforums.com/vb/showthread.php?t=107638)

TheInfiniteNothing 11-11-2016 07:33 AM

The Healing Nature Of Film

Hello
I am a film student with interests in philosophy,spirituality ,and linguistics.
I love the idea of any art form that brings attention to the self and helps excavate a truer sense of self.
So what I'm curious about is what are people's thoughts/experience with the healing/spiritual nature of film?

Some of my favorites would be
The Holy Mountain-Alejandro Jodorowsky
An Alchemical epic set in an esoteric landscape
Mushi-Shi
A series of mystical journeys with a traveling shaman
Eternal sunshine Of The Spotless Mind
Do our memories make us who we are?

knightofalbion 11-11-2016 09:47 AM

The Lovely Bones and What Dreams May Come are two of my favourites. The latter is a charming testament to the power of love and survival of spirit. [A wonderful scene where the character played by Robin Williams wakes on the Other Side, reunites with his 'dead' pet dog and realises that great spiritual truth ...]
The former is, like life, gritty with both light and dark, but as always good triumphing n the end. And the film features some magical cinematic depictions of the Beyond.

thebeautifulsacred 11-11-2016 10:36 PM

The Secret Garden definitely comes to mind as a healing/spiritual movie. Without giving too much away, in the film, you see the development of the central character, Mary, from spoiled to her truer self. I highly recommend it.

lilith 21-11-2016 01:30 PM

THX 1138, Equus, Shame, Blue is the warmest color, Mood indigo, Jodorowsky's dune, Frances, Knight of cups...
I have so many. If you want pm me because I don't know if it's allowed to post links here? That would be easier.

Brucely 07-01-2017 10:02 PM