PDA

View Full Version : Yelling at Someone then saying Sorry

Lynn
09-03-2016, 11:00 PM
Hello

I have to wonder in the first place what yelling at someone does accomplish this is in context to the work place I speak. Lately there has been a lot of yelling and even cussing at all levels where I am working. Then comes the "I am sorry for yelling" the hollow place of saying OK I was wrong. You vent it out and you feel better, but what about the person that got the brunt of it all that "I am sorry" is meaningless as the hurt has happened.

Why do we have that need to use " I am sorry" as an excuse to excuse our behavior that never should happen in the first place.

I have over 20 years management experience and yes I had moments of extreme frustrations but NEVER did I ever yell at a fellow worker, I would step away and take three breaths re group and re approach. Is it that hard to honestly do ?

How does it feel to be yelled at and then have that "I am sorry" come at you ?

Lynn

wolfgaze
10-03-2016, 12:10 AM

I think it helps because it shows that the person recognizes that his/her behavior was out-of-line (or uncalled for) - and at least to some degree regrets having acted in that manner... Whereas if the person never apologizes or addresses how he/she acted, you are more likely to feel that the person is still harboring that angry mindset or feels it was acceptable/justified - this can be a source of ongoing tension... I'd feel more comfortable interacting with someone who demonstrates an awareness of the nature of his/her behavior (in this context) as opposed to someone who does not openly acknowledge it...

Just my opinion....

Tobi
10-03-2016, 12:27 AM
....Because they lack the ability to control their outbursts, and just stop and think for that split-second while their emotions are welling up. It's a question of not being able to see two steps ahead, also not being able to hold firmly to a better way of doing things.