PDA

View Full Version : Will spritual deveopment lessen my drive to acheive?

kronen321
22-02-2016, 12:59 PM
I'll try and keep this as short as I can. I'm a 26 year old male, and since the age of 16 I've struggled with addiction issues. I've been sober since new year and I feel like I'm finally becoming my old self again.

I really want to make a living out of my music, I'm a talented musician and can play a range of instruments. I think throughout my years of addiction I used these instruments to deal with and express my emotions, that is why I'm so good. Now the fog of depression and addiction is lifting, my motivation, drive and ambition has returned and I realize now I am able and capable of living my dreams if I give them enough conscious attention. And this is where the problem arises when it comes do developing myself spiritually.

I have owned the book 'the presence process' by Micheal Brown for some years but never committed to the process itself, most likely because of my various addictions. It's a book that aims to bring you into the present by integrating your unconscious emotional responses embedded in you in childhood. A more hands on version of Eckhart Tolle's 'the power of now'.