PDA

View Full Version : can alcohol interfere with meditation?

casper
01-01-2011, 11:03 PM
I wanted to meditate but i've taken a glass of coca-cola and vodka...I'm a beginner in meditation and i don't know if this will interfere by making my visions unreliable or help me by making me relax?
Is it a bad thing to meditate under influence of alcohol??

Shabda
01-01-2011, 11:33 PM
I wanted to meditate but i've taken a glass of coca-cola and vodka...I'm a beginner in meditation and i don't know if this will interfere by making my visions unreliable or help me by making me relax?
Is it a bad thing to meditate under influence of alcohol??
it doesnt help really...i used to be an alcoholic, and it wasnt helping me in the least...alcohol will relax you, that much is true, but it is better to find more natural ways to relax than to use alcohol, also, without alcohol you will find you have better recall of what happened during meditation,and in the dream state...

Edy31
02-01-2011, 12:22 AM
As far as I know, drinking alcohol makes you more vulnerable and you may open yourself up more to negative energies.

Neville
02-01-2011, 12:25 AM
If you inadvertantly drop off during meditation while holding a glass of your preferred intoxicant, the myoclonic jerk can cause you to spill it.

Ivy
02-01-2011, 01:43 PM
If you inadvertantly drop off during meditation while holding a glass of your preferred intoxicant, the myoclonic jerk can cause you to spill it.

funny :D

I dont suppose it would hurt trying to meditate after a drink...but alcohol numbs the senses...so its certainly not going to enhance the experience of either.

SeaZen
02-01-2011, 02:38 PM