PDA

View Full Version : Something's Knocking

Shelly24
02-01-2015, 09:21 PM
I purchased my home a little over a year ago. The home was built in 1974. I have no knowledge of the prior occupants. After a year, I have started hearing someone or something knocking on a window in my livingroom. It is a polite and very deliberate knock like someone knocking at the door. Not particularly loud or urgent. Not scary, just knock, knock, knock, knock.... The number of knocks varies from 3 to 6 or 7). It has happened during all kinds of weather and various times of the night/morning. The only consistency is that it’s always dark outside and it’s always the same window. I’ve considered possible explanations. The bottom of the window is about 5 ½ feet off the ground. There is nothing outside near the window (like a tree) that could be hitting against the window. There is no evidence of an animal making the sound (like a rodent climbing up screen) and anyway, it sounds exactly like knuckles knocking on the window, not like an animal. I’m in CA and no snow here, nothing to leave tracks in. I first noticed it one night about a month ago when I was sitting in my livingroom reading at about 11:45 PM. I was wide awake and sitting near the window so I heard it very clearly for the first time. My cat heard it too and trotted over and looked out the window. Brave kitty-me not so brave. I’ve heard the knocking 6-7 times since then. My cat always perks up his ears and looks very intently towards the sound. After I heard it clearly that one night, it occurred to me that I’ve heard it before from my bedroom. It’s my cat’s reaction that made me realize I had heard it before. I’ve seen him react that way several times to a knocking sound that I heard from my bedroom while sleeping and I attributed to the refrigerator and just ignored it. He knows the difference. Smart cat, dumb me!