PDA

View Full Version : Correlating Numerology & Nordic Runes

VikingWarriorOnWheels
17-12-2014, 07:27 PM
I am of Norwegian heritage and decided to get a tattoo to commemorate my love of Scandi history and culture. After researching nordic symbology and runes, I decided to have a total of 8 runes (4 each) tattooed on my forearms. Each rune on my body represents an experience or trait that holds personal meaning and resonate with me.

They include, in order...
Left arm:
Uruz (strength): Having been born with a form of Muscular Dystrophy, my physical lack of strength is something I've had to overcome.
Kenaz (fire, creativity): I am an artist and work as a Graphic Designer. Fire is also associated with my Sagittarius birth sign.
Gebo (balance, relationships): Having a physical disability without much mobility, I heavily rely on partnerships and cooperation. More specifically, it represents the bond between my life partner and I: we balance eachother.
Wunjo (joy): I'm known for my optimism :)

Right arm:
Eihwaz (defense): I interpret this as resiliency. Despite my early, bleak diagnosis, I not only survived, but went away to college, earned a BA in Multimedia Digital Art, have a career doing what I love, found my life mate and just purchased a home in the country :)
Algiz (protection): In attempts to ward off any bad juju.
Sowilo (sun, life force): I have always been drawn the sun. Winters in Wisconsin can be rough on me, so it's comforting to have it with me always... Even when it's cold and dreary.
Mannaz (Mankind): To me, this symbol represents my relationships with others. Like I stated above, my survival depends on the assistance of others. My situation has allowed for an increased knowledge of cooperation, while also the ability to get along with a wide range of personalities.