PDA

View Full Version : headaches/migraines

spinnachie
24-03-2014, 05:21 PM
I get horrible headaches and migraines, and I get them fairly often so I am constantly popping advil liquid gels as that seems to be the only thing that works so that I don't have to miss work (personally I think my job has a lot to do with the headaches, go fig!)
I was wondering if anyone has any herbal remedies for headaches so that I can stop relying on advil

smattering
25-03-2014, 12:29 PM
Have you tried massage therapy? I'm a massage therapist and the majority of my clients get what they think are migraines, but what are actually headaches caused by muscular tension. Massage every couple weeks can get rid of them completely.

spinnachie
25-03-2014, 01:15 PM
hmmm I never thought of that, I do find that I am constantly tense...I will check it out...

lovingkind
25-03-2014, 04:01 PM
I just learned that rasberry leaf tea may help to prevent migraines if drank on a regular basis.

spinnachie
26-03-2014, 12:19 AM
im not much of a tea drinker, although i am trying to start...i usually head for coffee ;) but slowly i am learning to appreciate teas and their different flavours so i will have to see if i can find it

elisi
02-06-2014, 03:30 PM
i hardly get headaches but when i feel one coming on, i immediately take a niacin tablet and it staves it off.

no matter what the cause of your headache, the pain comes from the capillaries being narrowed and the blood flow lessening. niacin opens them up. you may feel a 'burn' after you take one, like you have a sunburn. or flushed. but it only lasts a couple of minutes.

i've never had a migraine but perhaps it will help that also. but you have to take it at the onset, not after it's full blown.

at least that's what works for me.

spinnachie
02-06-2014, 07:45 PM
i have ever heard of that, is it something you can get at the drugstore? is it a natural product?

elisi
02-06-2014, 08:03 PM
yes. it's in the vitamin b family.

Lilyth Von Gore