PDA

View Full Version : Learning about American Indian spirituality

Seekerofsolace
05-08-2013, 12:18 PM
Hello everyone!
I have made an account of these forums after a long time of lurking. I've always felt a strong pull towards American Indian spirituality. Lately it has gotten a lot stronger. I am a Christian, but I also want to learn more of the spirituality of the American Indians. I thought it was confirmation that I should study this path more when I came across someone who has a very close connection to an infuential member of the Lakota. Being a noob I started talking about my desire to learn more of Native American spirituality. This person did not want to share anything. It seemed they did not even want to talk about regular stuff...note this is on social media. I fear I may have offended them by coming directly at them about my desire of spirituality. I apologized but I am unsure it helped. To make matters worse I later read that there is a great big wall about whites learning American Indian spirituality. How can I show the person I talked with I am not out to use them, but learn about them and their culture and be a friend? How can I learn about the spiritual aspects when faced with the stigma of what my ancestors took from them? I do have some Cherokee ancestry but for all intents and purposes I am as white as they come. Your thoughts?

Namaste

Albalida
06-08-2013, 02:13 PM
My first thought is that Native American spirituality isn't some monolithic thing. It's going to be different for each tribe.

The bad news is... when you come in with the attitude of, "Any will do, as long as it's Native American, it doesn't matter which because they're all the same," then that can be off-putting because it sounds like you're drawn to the stereotype more than anything else.

The good news is... Will just any be good enough, as long as it's Native American? Because if Lakota snubbed you, then there could be others.