PDA

View Full Version : Who am I?

takso
24-08-2012, 07:39 AM
Who am I? Am I the mind? Am I the body? Or, am I the five body senses?

To the Master, I am a Servant,
To the Teacher, I am a Student,
To the Buddha, I am Empty.

So who am I, actually? Am I the flesh and blood? Am I the soul? Am I the consciousness? Who am I, really? Frankly speaking, what we used to claim such as the ‘I’ or ‘you’ or ‘we’ is merely an expression for our mind to comprehend on day-to-day communication with another individual. However, this expression does not grant us with unchanging or permanent ownership of our mind and body.

The ‘I’ or ‘you’ or ‘we’ is purely part of the becoming processes in this dependent nature. Both our mind and body would constantly orientate and evolve as according to the subjected conditions. The physical body is shaped up as appearance due to the existence of matter and matter is basically concerted, aggregated or concentrated or wrapped energy.

In other words, appearance is merely a momentary outcome of aggregation process that varies according to subjected conditions. For example, ice, water and steam are different appearances derived from the orientation of H2O properties based on subjected conditions. In other words, it is the orientation of H2O properties that has taken place to conjure up the momentary outcome of it. As for the mind, it is also originated from the aggregation process that conjures up memory and conscious aggregates and varies under the influence of phenomenal conditions.