PDA

View Full Version : Difference between Jew and Gentile?

TeeHee
26-05-2012, 12:33 AM
Curious about the distinction between Jew and Gentile, what their central roles are? according to, or supposing that there's a divine plan for each in maintaining their separate identities?

Animus27
26-05-2012, 07:44 PM
I'm not an expert, but I reckon I'll answer until someone more knowledgeable like Yamah or RabbiO does :tongue:

The main distinction between Jew & gentile (I think the anglicized Hebrew is goyim?) is that gentiles are only obliged to follow the 7 Noahide laws to be righteous, while Jews are bound to the covenant of Abraham and have to uphold Mosaic Law, and the purpose of the nation of Israel is to act as a beacon to other nations, and to be an example of good behavior and holiness - there's not necessarily anything bad about being a gentile, so long as one doesn't break the Noahide laws, except of course for more radical Jewish groups who view gentiles as being inferior (which are an extremely small minority).

So, shorter answer - gentiles are expected to be and remain gentiles, and Jews to follow their ancestral faith.

Yamah
28-05-2012, 08:23 AM
That is exactly right, Animus.

To take things a step further, the seven Noahide Laws are basic, foundational rules for how not to destroy the world - because stealing, killing, idolatry etc. all contribute to the world become a worse place. So gentiles are basically only responsible for not destroying the world. Other than that gentiles are able, if they are willing, to help fix the world - but they are not obligated.

Jews, however, have plenty of commandments to help fix the world - we are obligated to making the world a better place for all humanity. We don't have the option of sitting idle, meditating in an ashram for a month etc. We are obligated through divine decree to improve the physical and spiritual state of existence.

Animus27
28-05-2012, 06:39 PM
That is exactly right, Animus.