PDA

View Full Version : Computer code found in superstring theory

VanillaRayne
16-04-2012, 03:30 AM
Sorry if this has been posted before, but I did a search and didn't find anything. I can't post the URL since I'm a newbie, but basically it seems as though a physicist found the same error-correcting code that is found in computers is also found in the smallest bits of information in all particles in the universe. Or something to that effect anyway. It could just be coincidence, but it seems to support the same conclusion that the ancients knew thousands of years ago. Reality is an illusion. What do you all think?

CatChild
16-04-2012, 03:40 AM
Sorry if this has been posted before, but I did a search and didn't find anything. I can't post the URL since I'm a newbie, but basically it seems as though a physicist found the same error-correcting code that is found in computers is also found in the smallest bits of information in all particles in the universe. Or something to that effect anyway. It could just be coincidence, but it seems to support the same conclusion that the ancients knew thousands of years ago. Reality is an illusion. What do you all think?

I don't quite follow. Could you be more specific please? Maybe some details? Thanks,

~ C.

VanillaRayne
16-04-2012, 04:25 AM
From what I understand of it, hidden in superstring theory equations at the most fundamental level of the universe there are the exact same equations that operate computers. I couldn't begin to try to tell you what those equations are, the physicist calls them "self-dual error-correcting block codes." There's a video of it on youtube that will give a better explanation of it then I can.

Henri77
16-04-2012, 05:03 AM
Yes, I've seen the video. and a non mathemetician can only take their word for a concept that's a bit difficult to follow.
What this ultimately suggests I can't exactly guess, as I didn't watch the entire thing.