PDA

View Full Version : Want to learn more about shamanism

Curious77
13-04-2012, 05:59 AM
I'm a student at University of California, Davis in California, and I am curious about shamanism. I know only very little about it, so I don't understand a lot of things and terminology. Where can I go to learn about shamanism and contacting spirits near Davis?

And what are some good online resources about shamanism?

norseman
13-04-2012, 07:29 AM
Oh, Oh ! Prepare to enter the minefield ! :D

Quintessence
13-04-2012, 12:50 PM
Are you asking about indigenous/tribal Shamanism or Neoshamanism? There's quite a bit of difference between the two.

Curious77
15-04-2012, 05:45 AM
What's the difference? And I've also heard of Core shamanism. What's the difference between that and Indigenous and Neoshamanism?

Quintessence
15-04-2012, 05:55 PM
Core Shamanism would be a type of Neoshamanism; it's basically an attempt to extract unified principles from various Shamanic practices across the globe and make it accessible to outsiders. With indigenous/tribal Shamanism, you have to be born into that culture in order to practice it or somehow get adopted into the tribe/culture. To put it simply, Neoshamanism is an open tradition and indigenous/tribal is a closed tradition. There are, of course, individuals who borrow from the closed traditions. This is sometimes met with frowning faces by those who are part of these traditions, and hence arises some of the controversy Norseman was alluding to earlier. Some would argue that all Neoshamanism is a hackneyed rip-off of genuine indigenous/tribal religious practices.