PDA

View Full Version : Journal vs Book of Shadows

johnatre
30-01-2012, 01:00 AM
So, I am not new to this, well I sort of am, I've been studying it for about a year. So, to most of you I am new, but i feel like I have a lot of knowledge on it. Not a lot of experience and not near enough knowledge as I want(: Because i want to know everything, but probably never will. Anyways, on to the point. I keep a personal journal about my day and all that great stuff! I do not have a book of a shadows, but i often find myself writing about magic and all that great stuff! but basically my journal is a huge unorganized mixture of my personal and spiritual life. I tried to separate this, I tried to keep a strictly personal and a strictly spiritual, but i just couldnt. I felt a whole lot better keeping it all random, but when i go to find something I cant because there is no order. its so frustrating! But i love it! So can you please comment and tell me what you think I should do?

johnatre
30-01-2012, 01:08 AM
Oh, yeah. I keep this in a composition book, so i cant really open it and move it around like i would be able to with a three ring binder. I do this because it easier to hide it and i just like those.

norseman
30-01-2012, 07:38 AM
It's really up to you what you keep and how to organise it. As long as it makes sense and as long as you can find what you need, who can say what's is "best".
Since I am "old school" Craft, I don't have a BoS, just a "grimoire" of sorts, mostly photos which trigger memories and physical things that remind me of where I was and what I was doing at the time - things like pebbles, feathers, etc - small items I pick up on my wanders. I dont have rituals or spells, I just make them up on the spot when needed.

Don't get hooked on the wicca silliness that says you must do this or you must have that ! :smile:

LadyMoondancer
30-01-2012, 01:36 PM