PDA

View Full Version : Wiccans, Witches and the Runes

Mind's Eye
19-12-2011, 02:38 PM
Are you a wiccan, witch or of the old earth religion? Do you use the runes in your magic and ceremonies? If so, please tell me how you personally use the runes. And also, how do you use the runes when celebrating your spiritual path at Halloween time?

I am currently writing a book about how the runes are used in wiccan/witch traditions at Halloween time. And yes, it is a positive book on the subject. Any traditions you can share would be great. Thanks in advance.

And please remember, Runes in your craft at Halloween time is the focal point here.

Lostgirl
19-12-2011, 03:03 PM
I dont use Runes although it is something i have been looking into more recently funnily enough. They are for divination purposes and not heard of them being used in rituals as such, but i could be wrong. I use Tarot cards as im new with the divination haha!

As for Halloween, i dont do rituals. I know many people who try and contact "the other side" but i light a candle and i remember those who have passed. I dont agree with disturbing or trying to contact the ones who have passed.

norseman
19-12-2011, 03:11 PM
I follow the old ways of the Cunning Folk and runes form no part of it. Also, Halloween does not enter either. The festival is Samhain Oct 31st approx - the start of Winter, the beginning of the Celtic year, and the Day of the Dead when the veil is thin and the ancestors may be approached for their wisdom.
There seems to be agreement that runes were in use in Britain from about the 5th century with the Saxon invasions. Cunning Folk predate that.

Occultist
19-12-2011, 03:18 PM
^ and he gets there before I do ... <hugs> Norse :)
I do use runes but not for ceremonies they are a divination tool.
On Samhain eve the Witching hour 3am I will preform free readings in my house to those who ask.
My celebration of Samhain pronounced Sowen... Last's 24 hours.

norseman
19-12-2011, 03:20 PM