PDA

View Full Version : wanting to learn more about wicca

loumoon
09-11-2011, 10:52 AM
i have a very keen interest in many things but the main being spells and nature, i began readin and researching and practicing basic spells 11 years ago but the past 2 years i have lost my way with it and have recently had a push in that direction again through dreams and a series of bizarre coincedences..it was as if i was meant to do it again, i am a total novice and i am looking to learn as much as i can about wicca as i want to devote time to it now. if anyone has any good books they can recommend i would really appreciate it, and any advice/words of wisdom welcome :)

norseman
09-11-2011, 11:33 AM
Hi Loumoon. I presume that you have looked through the other wicca threads as this question has come up a lot recently and drawn some discussion [quite heated at times !]
OK books. Most are garbage written by people with made-up names, so be very selective ! My choice would be "The Triumph of the Moon" by Prof. Ronald Hutton - very well written and researched but an academic book.

Don't get side-tracked into the rituals and ceremonies of wicca, concentrate in getting the spirit right first and I think you know what that is because it has obviously already touched you. One "tool" which I think of as an essential is the ability to meditate. Find a good spot in the "green world" to meditate and let the spirit of the place guide you.
What I am saying is get your heart and soul on the path and everything will become clearer. Don't get hung up on this goddess/god or that goddess/god - keep it simple - The Lord and The Lady covers it quite nicely [personally I look to Gaia or Mother Earth]
This path is a never-ending journey and every day will be a learning experience :smile:

loumoon
09-11-2011, 11:46 AM