PDA

View Full Version : What happens when spirituality fails you?

earth2bella
02-04-2011, 06:20 AM
I've been at trying to enlightenment my self spiritually for 5 or 6 years now, in some form or another. I had had awakening in my early 20's. Once I realized what was happening, all I ever wanted to do with my time was read my books and post on these forums and practice methods of divination and psychic outlets, crystals and dream techniques and aura reading. I studied it all constantly for these past years and I tried to educate others at any opportunity I got. I was ultimately consumed by it.

But I had a 'falling out' with my spiritual progress and I stopped questioning and seeking completely, I stopped dreaming, and stopped sensing. Even when people who knew me as the go-to person for certain insights I wouldn't want to talk about it or play it off like I didn't know what to tell them.

I've regressed completely since then and it now makes me wonder..

Was this whole spiritual journey ever really meant for me? Was it a phase? Because if it was I would be on track, making progress, or at least not so estranged from it. And despite being told numerous times that this is my path, I very much doubt the validity of this. Sure it's up to me to make it happen, but I can't force it.

Imagine a line, and on the left side of the line was everything indulgent regarding spirituality and all the curiosities of the universe -- rainbow, and on the right was standard society cut-and-dry without any wonderment -- gray.. I used to be on the left side, now I'm on the right. There has never been a balance of the two.

I feel I've wasted time. I could have been pursuing my career sooner if I hadn't spent so much time on this stuff. Or vice versa, what if this is my path and I should be progressing down it. All of the progress I'd made in prior years, *it never got put to good use, I never perfected anything, it all seems lost now, and I don't have a thing to show for it.