PDA

View Full Version : What do you prefer in spiritual groups?

Ciqala
08-03-2011, 11:04 PM
I have a calling to start a meditation/spiritual group, and open my house to my community, my first stepping stone to helping people and being of service - yet have no idea where to start :D I seriously feel better attending groups, but my spirit guides and destiny is calling me to start one, and honestly i don't know how.
In my community I have only attended a few other spiritual groups, taken note on what i do and do not like about how they are run.

First of all I disagree with asking money for spiritual growth and learning, so my spiritual events will be free, and I am sure people will respond well to that.

What I know of most people - the beginners - they are looking for structure, someone to tell them what to do. This is one thing i am wary of, because i have nothing to offer, i have little experience teaching, let alone i don't believe i am qualified or significant enough to tell people what to do. I certainly have no confidence, maybe way too humbled for my own good, and i would rather it be a setting where everyone is equal and can learn from each other. Does this put a damper in my plans? Because my vision, is to just open my place to likeminded individuals, and NOT be a leader, to have everyone equal, not have one specific guru preaching about how people are supposed to be spiritual, because i don't believe in there being ONE way, and I absolutely despise all of the spiritual groups i have been to, because that's all you find (some person preaching about how they do it getting all ego based, never allowing anyone else to talk), but instead i hope people would share their experiences, share what they want to learn, be an equal loving space for all to put in input, and i could offer what i know, what i have done to acheive certain spiritual endeavers, but as long as they know there are millions of other ways to do so, but certainly never would i want to teach some