PDA

View Full Version : Ego question I would love help with......

bflare
01-11-2016, 08:22 PM
My knowledge on the ego is that it is our conditioned false self. It is the identification that we have given ourselves. For example, I am Tony, I am an engineer, I don’t like winter etc etc. Hope I am correct so far? The ego lives in the past & future & finds it hard to live in the present?
One question that I am struggling with is the following:
We have a set of limiting beliefs from our childhood etc that hold us back on certain things. If one of those limiting beliefs is that people don’t like us then we will tend to attract that from people. So when someone says something to us that we perceive as hurtful we immediately feel the emotion of hurt or & maybe the physical feeling of pain. Now if we can rationalise this & observe the emotion instead of feeling the emotion & the subsequent pain then why is it so hard to do this? It feels as if we want the negativity & the pain but this would be insane. Is it actually the ego that wants this negativity to feed on it therefore carry on its existence?

Hope I have not lost anyone haha.

Thanks,

Tony.

DreamKey
01-11-2016, 10:03 PM
My knowledge on the ego is that it is our conditioned false self. It is the identification that we have given ourselves. For example, I am Tony, I am an engineer, I don’t like winter etc etc. Hope I am correct so far? The ego lives in the past & future & finds it hard to live in the present?

Hi Tony. You could think of ego as a conceptual self referencing framework that formulates the foundation for identification with the conditioned self, or with conditioned thinking. In this sense there is a degree of unconsciousness implicit in the word ego. This would be the ego that is obsessed with past and future.

Others use ego to point directly toward the conditioned self, without taking into account degrees of unconsciousness. In this sense, everyone has an ego, or everyone is an ego.